- Macyh Nawaey
Minimum Car Insurance Requirement in California
If you register a car in California you are required to have have automobile insurance. Moreover, you must carry evidence of insurance in your vehicle at all times and it must be provided when requested by law enforcement or if the vehicle is involved in a traffic accident. Under California Insurance Code (§11580.1b), the minimum liability insurance requirements for private passenger vehicles are follows:
$15,000 for injury/death to one person
$30,000 for injury/death to more than one person
$5,000 for damage to property
Liability insurance compensates an individual other than the policyholder for personal injury or property damage arising from a motor vehicle accident. Because an injury claim often involves negotiating with an insurance company, it is crucial to have an experienced car accident attorney in your corner.